Weekly Photo Challenge: Humanity

IMG_5043

“If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay at home.” — James Michener
According to Wikipedia: The virtue, humanity, is a set of strengths focused on “tending and befriending others”.
I hope that by traveling and taking the time to try and understand others I am working towards developing this virtue. I even try to understand the “ugly American” tourists that hate the food, want things “like we do it at home” and complain sorely and loudly about the customs of the places they visit. That is why I love the James Michener quote.

Traveling in Greece I noted a movement on the side of the road. It appeared to be a walking bush- two stout legs covered in thick stockings, sensible well worn black shoes all draped with assorted plant material. The bush tipped back and forth ever so slightly as it moved along. I was intrigued, so I followed this “walking bush” up the hillside. I wish I could have spoken enough Greek to ask her a few questions. I was able with pointing from my camera to her to get her permission to take this photograph.

At my hotel I inquired about this lady. Seems she walks the roadside every day collecting the best grasses and herbs to feed her goats. Everyone “knows her” but no one could tell me her given name. They just called her ” the goat lady”. They did not know her age, thought she was a widow and knew of no family. She bartered her goat milk for things she needed in town. I can’t imagine such a life but this woman seemed content and happy. She hummed to herself a lively tune as she continued down the road, cutting grass and weaving it into the brush she was carrying on her back.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Humanity

Leave a comment